Einfühlung

Standard

Movie : At First Sight

VIRGIL : You like rain – I love the rain.

AMY (moving to him) : What were you just doing there?

Virgil slowly moves his head about, sensing the room.

VIRGIL : Listening – the rain – it brings out the contours of everything, gives life to a room I can’t see. You hear it?…on the roof dripping down the walls on every side. On the right, on the drainpipe, it’s drumming with a deeper, steadier sound – – like a timpani – echoing across the room – tells me the room is large – open. You feel it – in your chest? On the left, the rain says… (he listens) …a fire escape, with it’s own rhythm – ping – ping. Then listen – there… (he points) –what’s that – over there…?

AMY : Looks like it’s…

VIRGIL : No, listen for it – not what it looks like – what it becomes. Come here.

Amy moves closer – Virgil puts his hands out on her shoulders – turns her to the sound.

VIRGIL : Now just listen to it – shut out everything but that sound – do you hear it?

Amy strains to listen – closes her eyes – her head instinctively turning – no in unison with Virgil’s

AMY :Yes – there – it’s soft – like a shimmer

VIRGIL : The wind blowing the rain against a window. AMY (smile)  Like a cymbal. It’s like our own percussive symphony, isn’t it?

Amy opens her eyes – looks about the room – listening.

VIRGIL : The world is invisible to me – with my touch it comes alive. But only one thing at a time. But when it’s raining, I feel everything at once. Sometimes, I wish it could rain inside rain all around us.

AMY (musing) : “Einfuhlung.”

VIRGIL : What?

AMY : Einfuehlung – it’s an architectural term. It means to share an empathy. Been a long time since I felt that.

And as they stand listening to the rain, playing its music – Amy watches him – fascinated by him – then shivers slightly.

VIRGIL : You’re cold, we should go.

AMY : No, I’m fine, really. It was just something passing through me – can’t explain it – a good thing.

Amy smiles at him – then quietly realizes he can’t see it. She moves close, her hand reaching out and taking his.

AMY : What you just showed me … how I feel – makes me smile.

She takes his hand – hesitates – then puts it on the side of her face.

VIRGIL : I see it now. Thank-you.

About G...

Evolving and revolving! Douglas Adams & Woody Allen are my soul mates from another era. My quirkiness is an eclectic mix of Jess (New Girl), Dharma and Carrie Bradshaw. Sharing my birthday with Paulo Coelho & Stephen Fry, i'm always reading a book and enjoy having engaging conversations about life and love. I take children, wit and play seriously, very seriously. I'm a renaissance soul who enjoys yoga, vodka with cranberry and doodling. Working in the field of Education and Story-telling, there are only two things i look forward to: Knowing myself and Everything that matters!

3 responses »

  1. Hey…I c that you were quite fascinated with this movie. Nice dialogue series…seems more like the ones we’ve been having for the past few days. How do U remember the lines?…very curious bot this one?

  2. Yes, I found the movie stimulating my senses.. And Yes.. Einfuehlung is what i feel most of the time we speak withe each other.. I remember the scene quite vividily.. and regarding the dialogues…remember i am a Research Analyst.. Well, i googled it.. 😉

  3. I did too and ended up here.
    Sorry I am only three years late in joining the discussion guys. Having just watched the rain scene from At First Sight I wondered what was that strange word Amy used to describe empathy. It has been a subject which has long interested me. Anyway thanks to MR Google I too was able to access the script.
    In English we say empathy which is a bit of an apology as if every man/ woman is an Island. For the fact that the German language has a word specifically referring to a revelatory communion (as I read it) I wondered if that was not a reflection of how they interacted. My thoughts go back to 2 separate conversations with German girls. Ironically I came away from both with the impression that Einfuehlung was far from something which came to naturally to them.

Leave a Reply

