Random read – ‘Battle of mind(s)’

Standard

This blog is my process of storing words, music and whatever can be stored electronically. Articles which inspire me, surprise me and confuse me.. Music which heals, rocks and mixes my feelings.. All this is stored in an attempt to allow me to revisit and view the path that lay behind me, and understand how i came to be where i am now.. (and that’s, nowhere).. Anyways, i am starting to record snippets from the books i am reading and this will be classified under “Random read”. I might be irregular as i am known to be. But weekly once is a decent expectation which ‘might’ be fulfilled.

The book i am currently reading is “And Another thing”
And this is today’s random read

Guide’s Note
Remembering is generally a two-stage process involving dialogue between the conscious and the subconscious parts of the brain. The subconscious opens proceedings by throwing up the relevant memory, an act which releases a spurt of self congratulatory endorphins.

“Well done, matey,” says the consciousness. “The memory is really useful right now; and i couldn’t remember where i’d put it.”

“You and me, pal” says the subconscious, delighted to have its contribution acknowledged for once. “We’re in this together.”

Then the conscious reviews the memory in its in-tray and sends a message down to the sphincter telling it to prepare for the worst.

“Why did you remind me of this?” it rails against the subconscious. “This is awful. Terrible. I didn’t want to remember this. Why the zark do you think i shoved it to the back of my brain?”

“Thats the last time i help you out,” mutters the subconscious and retreats in the darker sections of itself where nasty thoughts are housed.
“I dont need you,’ it tells itself.”I can make myself another personality out of these things you’ve discarded.’

And so the seeds of schizophrenia are sown with kernels of childhood bullying, neglect, low self esteem and prejudice.

Luckily, Betelgeuseans don’t have much of a subconscious, so that’s all right then.

About G...

Evolving and revolving! Douglas Adams & Woody Allen are my soul mates from another era. My quirkiness is an eclectic mix of Jess (New Girl), Dharma and Carrie Bradshaw. Sharing my birthday with Paulo Coelho & Stephen Fry, i'm always reading a book and enjoy having engaging conversations about life and love. I take children, wit and play seriously, very seriously. I'm a renaissance soul who enjoys yoga, vodka with cranberry and doodling. Working in the field of Education and Story-telling, there are only two things i look forward to: Knowing myself and Everything that matters!

Leave a Reply

